EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

General talks about EssentialPIM

Moderators: Max, TerryRogers

Post Reply
Runes
Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:58 am
Been thanked: 1 time

EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

Post by Runes »

Hello!

I have intention to install Windows Pro 11 at my PC! I don't have find very much information for this case! For the moment I have Windows Pro 10 and the EssentialPIM Pro 10.2.1 run without problems!

Will this me be case when I install Windows Pro 11?
Triple S
Experienced
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 5:07 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

Post by Triple S »

Windows 11 and EPIM work fine together.

That said Windows 11 is still far buggier in general than Windows 10 and I don't recommend it to anyone, especially if you have an AMD CPU.
Runes
Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:58 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

Post by Runes »

When you must install Windows Pro 11 new with ecrease the Windows Pro 10 and after I must download EssentilaPIM (lasted version only Windows 10) because I have for the moment not another possibility! I can't go the update of Windows! I have a HP ProDesk 600, is this important which PC you have! Who I can find that I have a AMD CPU?
SilverSound
Experienced
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 6:46 am
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

Post by SilverSound »

You can right click This PC > Properties

Then under system you'll see either AMD or Intel

It's important because Windows 11 forces use to use a security feature TPM2.0 that is not natively supported on AMD and the software implementation of it causes a lot of issues. Also note that the software version on AMD is a BIOS update, meaning that you'll need to flash your motherboard to support windows 11 updates on AMD CPUs.

That said many Intel computers also didn't ship with TPM2.0 for a long time.

At the end of the day Windows 11 is not an upgrade friendly OS.

Looking at a quick google search a lot of the HP ProDesk 600 are intel based and do not have TPM2.0 support, so you'll need to boot into your bios. Normally by hitting [f2] or [del] while the system is restarting, and look around to see if you have TPM2.0 if you see anything other than TPM2.0 like TPM1.8 then it is not a good idea to try and install windows 11 on the system.
Runes
Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:58 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

Post by Runes »

I was in the BIOS and I have a TPM 2.0 avaible who I can changed to hidden!
Runes
Novice
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2017 1:58 am
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

Post by Runes »

Is the important that is EssentialPIM Pro or not?
Triple S
Experienced
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2020 5:07 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: EssentialPIM and Widows Pro 11

Post by Triple S »

No, license type [free/pro/enterprise] doesn't effect OS compatibility.
Post Reply