Current encryption settings

Your suggestions for future versions of EssentialPIM

Moderators: TerryRogers, Max

Argenthos
Experienced

Current encryption settings

Post by Argenthos »

First of all, i am no expert in encryption, but for what i can see other softwares with encryption capabilities offer a bit more settings that EPIM at present time.

From what i learned so far about encryption stuff, correct me if i am wrong, EPIM already has those capabilities, like hash, key size and iterations, it just doesn't have the option for the user to change this and these settings make a diference.

So it would be nice in the future if we could have the option to change those settings.
TumbleDoor
Guru

Re: Current encryption settings

Post by TumbleDoor »

Argenthos wrote: Thu Nov 26, 2020 7:25 pm First of all, i am no expert in encryption, but for what i can see other softwares with encryption capabilities offer a bit more settings that EPIM at present time.

From what i learned so far about encryption stuff, correct me if i am wrong, EPIM already has those capabilities, like hash, key size and iterations, it just doesn't have the option for the user to change this and these settings make a diference.

So it would be nice in the future if we could have the option to change those settings.
EPIM is not made for encryption experts either, otherwise it would be open source.

For the vast majority of users it would be confusing and dangerous to offer extra encryption settings that modify how the encryption works.

As a general user program it is better that options are kept low.
[I invite you to open nearly any compression program like 7zip and check their encryption options as a good example.]

Power users looking for more should forgo built in encryption system and use something like VeraCrypt instead.